Winner: Jackson 96ers, MS
Runner-Up: North MS Indians, MS
Final Game Score: Jackson 96ers 13 vs. North MS Indians 1

 MVP – Kace Garner, Jackson 96ers 17U                                                                                                                                                                                                         Batting Champion - Kade Dees, Jackson 96ers 17U                                                                                                                                                                                                

Front Row Kneeling (L-R): Garrett Harmon, Spencer Wright, John David Topik, Connor Stec, Elisha Hickman, Kade Dees
2nd Row Standing (L-R): Coach Darren Harmon, Jovante Dorris, Kace Garner, Edwin Smith, Jordan Murphy, JT Carney, Manager Derek Topik
3rd Row Standing (L-R): Eldeshun Miller, Chris Hart, Brady Tynes, Darius Taylor, Javian Stone
Not Pictured: Coach Brian Wright, Kyle Tynes, DJ Lewis


The Jackson 96ers (Jackson, MS) won their 2nd NABF World Series in 2017 on Sunday, July 30th with a 13-2 victory over the North MS Indians in the NABF High School World Series. This is their 3rd NABF World Series Championship in the past two years; 2016- 16U Junior World Series Champions, 2017- 17U High School World Series Champions and 18U Senior Division World Series Champions. Jackson 96ers Manager Derek Topik is very proud of these young men; “their hard work and desire to win is very evident in their unprecedented accomplishments over the last two years. They bought into the belief that everyone has a role to play and when it is your turn, no matter what the role, you get the job done.”

The 96ers used the same formula to win the NABF High School World Series that has worked over the past two years; solid pitching and timely hitting. Kace Garner, Jackson 96ers, would gain MVP honors because of his bat and solid catching. Kade Dees, Jackson 96ers, would win the Batting Title with a .545 average.

In the Championship Game, the North MS Indians would jump on 96ers starter, JT Carney, for two unearned runs in the bottom of the first. Carney would then blank the Indians for the remainder of the game, striking out five and only giving up two hits. The 96ers offense would come alive in the top of the 2nd inning. Eldeshun Miller would hit a single up the middle to score the tying runs and make the score 2-2.

The 3rd inning would be all the 96ers would need to win the championship as 14 batters came to the plate in the top of the 3rd. They would score 10 runs on seven hits. Kace Garner, World Series MVP, would hit 2 doubles and get 4 RBI’s, to put the 96ers ahead for good. The game would end on a 6-4-3 double play and the 96ers would celebrate their 5th NABF National Championship.

The 96ers would go 2-1 in pool play as solid pitching propelled them into the semifinals. Javian Stone (All Tournament), beat the 365 Stars 10-0 and John Topik (All Tournament), beat the North MS Indians 2-0 in pool play. Darius Taylor, (All Tournament) would win the semifinal game, 12-0, on a one hitter, striking out four.


Position Team Name Player Name
Catcher Jackson 96ers 17U Kade Dees
Catcher North MS Indians Alan Hall
Utility Jackson 96ers Reed Tre Spires
1B Jackson 96ers 17U Eldeshun Miller
2B MS Stars 17U Eli Bryson
3B MS Stars 17U Austen Izzo
SS Jackson 96ers 17U Jovante Dorris
OF Jackson 96ers 17U Edwin Smith
OF Jackson 96ers 17U Garrett Harmon
OF North MS Indians Jacob Jaudon
OF North MS Indians Carson Dallas
OF Jackson 96ers 16U Kameron Robinson
OF 365 MS Stars Tyler Starnes
DH Jackson 96ers 16U Julian Murphy
Pitcher Jackson 96ers 17U John Topik
Pitcher Jackson 96ers 17U Darius Taylor
Pitcher Jackson 96ers 17U JT Carney
Pitcher North MS Indians Kirby Ross
Pitcher MS Stars Collin Jones
Pitcher Jackson 96ers 16U Darius Anderson